# EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL

**MINUTES** of the Meeting held in the UKP Leisure Club, Avenue of Remembrance, Sittingbourne, Kent ME10 3DE on Tuesday, 15 May 2018 from 7.00pm - 7.23pm.

**PRESENT**: Councillors Sarah Aldridge, Cameron Beart, Bobbin, Monique Bonney, Andy Booth, Tina Booth, Lloyd Bowen, Bowles, Derek Conway, Mike Dendor, Duncan Dewar-Whalley, Paul Fleming, Sue Gent, Mike Henderson, Alan Horton, James Hunt, Ken Ingleton, Nigel Kay, Samuel Koffie-Williams (Deputy Mayor), Gerry Lewin, Prescott (Mayor), Ken Pugh, David Simmons, Ben Stokes, Lynd Taylor, Roger Truelove, Anita Walker, Ghlin Whelan, Mike Whiting, Ted Wilcox, Tony Winckless and John Wright.

**OFFICERS PRESENT:** Heather Elliott, Chris Lovelock, Jo Millard and Mark Radford.

**APOLOGIES:** Councillors Mike Baldock, Roger Clark, Mike Cosgrove, Mick Galvin, James Hall, Nicholas Hampshire, Harrison, Bryan Mulhern and George Samuel.

## 662 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Mayor advised the meeting of the evacuation procedure.

### 663 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No interests were declared.

## 664 HONORARY FREEMAN OF THE BOROUGH

Councillor Alan Horton proposed and Councillor Ghlin Whelan seconded that Mr Stephen Mark Brown be awarded the title of Honorary Freeman of the Borough, and gave speeches in support of the proposal.

Upon being put to the vote and agreed unanimously, the retiring Mayor presented Mr Stephen Mark Brown with a scroll to reflect this honour and Mr Brown gave a speech in recognition of the award.

#### Resolved:

(1) That this Council in pursuance of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972 confer upon Mr Stephen Mark Brown the title of Honorary Freeman in recognition of his extraordinary commitment, perseverance and achievements, and encouragement of all people in Swale through his training and inspirational speaking.

<u>Chairman</u>

-669-

Copies of this document are available on the Council website http://www.swale.gov.uk/dso/. If you would like hard copies or alternative versions (i.e. large print, audio, different language) we will do our best to accommodate your request please contact Swale Borough Council at Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT or telephone the Customer Service Centre 01795 417850.

All Minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the Committee/Panel